Home» News» Ncell Wins Most Innovative Telecom Project Award in Telecom Asia Awards 2017

Ncell Wins Most Innovative Telecom Project Award in Telecom Asia Awards 2017

Ncell, the first private mobile operator in Nepal, wins the Most Innovative Telecom Project in Asia Pacific at the Telecom Asia Awards 2017.

Ncell was declared the winner for its initiative, Gham Power Nepal Pvt Ltd. The project aims to connect the unconnected off-grid communities with telecom as well as energy by promoting off-grid clean power solutions.

Ncell’s Corporate Communications Director Sanju Koirala received the award amid a gala event of 20th Telecom Asia Awards, Malaysia, on Wednesday, May 3.

Ncell Wins Most Innovative Telecom Project Award
Photo credit: Glocal Khabar

Simon Perkins, Managing Director of Ncell said, “We are delighted that our effort to connect the unconnected and fulfill dynamic connectivity need of off-grid communities has won the international awards. The win is a testament to Ncell’s exemplary works and commitment towards the socio-economic advancement of the country.”

Prior to this, Ncell won GSMA Global Mobile Awards 2016 for ‘Mobile in Emergency or Humanitarian Situations. Besides that, it was also recognized as Nepal Mobile Service Provider for the Year by Frost and Sullivan Asia Pacific Awards 2016.

The other projects shortlisted for the awards were: Google’s Project Loon, China Unicom’s IoT-based smart parking and SK Telecom of South Korea’s first virtual assistant service ‘Nugu’.

About Telecom Asia

Now in its 20th year, Telecom Asia Awards is Asia’s longest-running and most prestigious telecom industry awards. It is organized by Telecom Asia, the region’s largest regional telecom publishing group.

Telecom Asia build products targeting the telecommunications professionals around Asia. Some of its products being Telecom Asia magazine, www.telecomasia.net and a range of industry-specific supplements.

Telecom Asia Awards is its annual event to reward the innovative and outstanding performance by Asian service providers and industry executives.  This year’s nominations was called in January and were awarded in May. The awards are given on the basis of innovation, financial performance, technology, market leadership and corporate governance.

Edited by – Prabina Neupane

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest
Bajaj Offer